Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: how to get a LF photography assistant job?

how to get a LF photography assistant job?

I am looking for photo apprentice opportunity. Does anybody have idea about how to get started?
    Does this common in photography area?

Re: how to get a LF photography assistant job?

Probably back in the days when LF was used widely in commercial photography the big metropolitan areas would have opportunities, but those days are long gone. If there is a working architecture or portrait photographer in your area you might approach them. Or find an assistant's opening at a unversity with a noteworthy photography program. Outside of that, I haven't a clue.
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

I work as an assistant here in LA. NO ONE that I know of is still shooting 4x5, much less 8x10 for commercial work anymore. Not to say there aren't those that occasionally do:

http://austinhargrave.com/blog/tag/d...to-8x10-camera

Unfortunate, for sure. I joined the assisting game a few years ago, and to be honest, it has its ups, but it can definitely have its downs. Assisting can be a great way to learn the technical, as long as you're working with people who are willing to teach. I'm not a 20yr veteran like some of the guys and gals(few, but there are some female assistants here I know of) that have made it a career. Some of them shoot LF for their own personal work, but for paid jobs, its pretty much all digital now. The technical requirements, smaller budgets(generally) and 'behind schedule' rushing of a lot of jobs that I work on simply couldn't 'work' with film's schedule.