Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Zone VI modification worth the cost?

Zone VI modification worth the cost?

Hello all. I'm new to LF, and very thankful to have found this wonderful resource. I've just purchased a used 4x5 camera, and now I'm begining to "accessorize". My previous experience has been limited to 35mm format (Nikon FE) with built-in metering, which I'm planning to use as my LF meter to start-out with. But after I've begun to familiarize myself with the basics (camera operation, etc.), I'd like to learn how to apply the Zone System. At some point I'll probably want a more accurate means of metering, hence the reason for this post: I've handled the Pentax Digital Spot Meter and like it's simplicity & feel, but I'm curious about the Zone VI modifications - would I'd be better off in the long run to spend the extra money for these features (+$130.00)? Actually, the money isn't too much of an issue - I could afford to spend the extra - but I'm wondering if a person could simply use the "standard" meter and somehow learn to compensate instead? Guess part of my question results from not really understanding the fundamental principals involved. Any thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated!

It's not worth it. The stock Pentax digital spot is fine just as it is. You can always learn to bump the green foilage up or down the scale once you understand the principles of the Zone system.

Frank is correct. The money spent is not worth the outcome. I would suggest buying a Zone VI viewing filter. A good preview of how the tones look in a monochrome world. Calumet sells them for a round $30.00 I think. Well worth the money.

Frank and Bruce reflect my experience precisely. There are much bigger variables to contend with when starting out.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

at age 73:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"