Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Arca Swiss

Which Arca Swiss

For a complete beginner buying an Arca Swiss for architectural photography (film, 120 or 4x5), is an older model going to do the job, or is it worth paying the extra for an F-Line or Discovery?

And can the older models be upgraded?

Re: Which Arca Swiss

I have a 171mm 4x5 Classic F and an old-style Arca 6x9.

The thing to remember about the older-style Arcas is that they have a foam seal in the front and back. So, you would need to monitor these light seals for deterioration, change them when needed, etc.

Also, I believe that my 6x9 Arca can't bring the lens and ground glass as close together as a modern 6x9 Arca. If this is the case in the 4x5 old-style, then this could affect architectural photography. (Given architectural photography's reliance on super-wides.) At the same time, while hard to find, recessed lensboards as deep as 2 inches were made for the old-style 4x5 Arcas.

Other than these details, the controls, rise, shift, etc., seem to work just fine on my older Arca.

Thanks Neil.

A new version of an arca swiss discovery is not common but can be found second hand for a good price. Here are some thoughts.

I owned the stock Discovery(12 inch monorail, big lens boards, standard bellows). It was the perfect camera for a one lens photographer, particularly if the one lens is a 150mm lens. The thing is like carrying a big, metal brick around but it is the best camera for the money and you might be able to find one used for between 600.00 and 1000.00 depending on condition, accessories,etc. I bought the expensive folding rail which made it easier to carry.