Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sell my Tachi for a Chamonix 45n2?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Just Getting Started

Sell my Tachi for a Chamonix 45n2?

I have a super nice Tachihara (almost, if not, mint) that I really like. The downside for me is that it's a bit flashy and draws attention. I'm also not a huge fan of the short bellows and the inability to swap them out. I got a good deal on it about 2 years ago and am thinking about selling it and buying the Chamonix 45n2. I'm a tech guy and that camera, it's features aside, makes me a bit giddy with the beautiful hardware. I really enjoy the lightness of the Tachi and it's ability to stay set regardless of any fiddling I do after focus (I added the plastic spacers under all the knobs). That said, how much heavier / bulkier does the Chamonix feel? I can read the actual specs, and I have, but numbers don't always relate to real life. Any thoughts for and against such a decision are welcomed. I assume I can get about $550 for the Tachi. Am I off there?

Thanks in advance,
    -Bill

Re: Sell my Tachi for a Chamonix 45n2?

I have not used a Tachihara personally, but I would bet the Chamonix is much more rigid and probably no more bulkier or heavier. I'd have to look up the specs on the Tachi but the Chamonix is less than 3lb! What more do you want?
    Bryan | Blog | YouTube | Instagram | Portfolio
    All comments and thoughtful critique welcome

Don't start down THAT path.
    Your first line tells the REAL story: "I have a super nice Tachihara that I really like." Keep it!
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

Just Getting Started