Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going to India for 3 weeks

Going to India for 3 weeks

In December I will be going to India for 3 weeks through my university. I'm working on getting an itinerary/schedule, however, I do know that we are starting in New Delhi and working our way east and south with stops for sure at the Taj Mahal and the Red Fort in Agra. I've been photographing for nigh on 6 or 7 years now, but I've never done any major traveling and have thus not traveled with any decent amount of equipment. I've wanted to travel outside the states for a long time now and I'm not going to miss this opportunity to visit a place as beautiful and interesting as India.

I've currently got a Nikon d50 (nikkor 50/1.8, tamron 28-70, tamron 70-300) and just recently I picked up a Cambo SC on ebay (180 schneider symmar-s). The d50 takes fine pictures quality-wise, especially with the 50/1.8 which is a wonderful lens. But it doesn't do well in the way of dynamic range that I want for color so I tend to turn most shot monochrome black and white. I've taken a few shots, have 4 film holders in the fridge waiting to be developed, with the SC -- which is actually quite fun to use. Using the GG to compose and focus is such a change from the tiny viewfinder on the nikon. Unfortunately, I don't think it's going to feasible to lug the SC over to India and haul it around with me, the tripod is also fairly bulky and not something I would want to haul around with me.

As a student I don't have much in the way of funds available to buy the equipment I would love to take. But I'm might use some available loan money to pick up something new to me stuff.