Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Are there any 4x5 cameras with big rangefinders like the polaroid 110B?

Are there any 4x5 cameras with big rangefinders like the polaroid 110B?

Hi All,
    I'm relatively new to LF and have been shooting a 4x5 speed graphic with the top mounted rangefinder. Recently I tested a Polaroid 110B conversion to 4x5 and loved the rangefinder view which is wonderful compared to the tiny one in my speed graphic. I'm now looking for something that has some movements but with a better rangefinder and would welcome some suggestions.
    Thanks,
    Eric

Re: Are there any 4x5 cameras with big rangefinders like the polaroid 110B?

Look at a Wista RF; I'm not sure if the rangefinder is necessarily better, but it's worth mentioning as an alternative.

The British MPP MicroPress has a bigger rangefinder than the Speed Graphics, in fact it had a top mounted rangefinder earlier than the Pacemakers. However it's not an advantage to you as it's essentially a Speed Graphic in a Celestion speaker case, same shutter, focus rails, front standard etc, so same movements. (Celestion speakers and MPP had the same owner).

Maybe a Linhof Technica or a Super Graphic would be better. I'm now using a Super Graphic in preference to my Speed & Crown Graphics and there's more than enough movemebts for me. I haven't restored the Rangefinder yet though.

Ian

The 110B has a fixed lens, so it's easier to make a single-window rangefinder/viewfinder for it. An interchangeable lens rangefinder is a more complicated business, particularly when the lenses could be made by anyone. 4x5" Linhofs in general have separate rangefinders and viewfinders, and each lens needs a custom ground cam to couple to the rangefinder.

Are you referring to the rangefinder or the big, projected bright line viewfinder? They are two completely different different functions.
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)