Thread: Harman Positive Paper - error, will robinson

Harman Positive Paper - error, will robinson

I bought some of this (RC luster), loaded it, shot it, developed it and got 4 nice clean white sheets of expensive wet paper... I've never used positive paper before and wasn't sure which side was the emulsion, so loaded them how I thought it went.

Since this is positive paper, does white after dev-fix-wash mean that I totally super-over-exposed all 4 sheets a la light leak, OR does it mean that I loaded the paper backwards, and shot the base? I'm thinking the former. But my capacity for error is legion, so I'm open to other idiotic things I might have done.

Thanks, Richard

Re: Harman Positive Paper - error, will robinson

When you aren't sure:
    film and paper curl towards the emulsion side.
    Lick the tip of your finger and lightly touch a corner of the paper or film. The sticky side is the emulsion.

Analog Photographer Kimberly Anderson's Avatar

What did you rate it at? It's probably ASA 6-ish...maybe 12.

Quote Originally Posted by michael slade View Post
    What did you rate it at? It's probably ASA 6-ish...maybe 12.
    I read the info sheet right before the exposures, and I think I used 3. But I suspect that when I did an in camera pre-flash, the lens wasn't tightened and had a leak around it.

all WHITE----that's super fogging for reversal, right....did you try developing a scrap right out of the box to see what it should look like unexposed? I never tried the stuff myself, but I do reversals almost exclusively with film....

Sounds overexposed to me. Its very high contrast so is often white or black with minimal grey tones. Maybe try less of a preflash. I was preflashing with a 2 sheets of yupo over the lens to difuse the light, maybe some normal paper will work, or fixed out resin coated photopaper. My memory sayes a zone 3 exposure for the preflash. I need to spend some time with it again, but too busy at the moment.