Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sinar F1 & Strobe

Smile Sinar F1 & Strobe

Hello,
    I have a Sinar F1 and have been using it...it works fine with natural light. However, I just tried it with Flash (elinchrom 400 lite) for some products. When I set the lens to the light meter reading ie. F16 at 1/60th, I set this on the lens with 1.5 compensation it comes out really underexpose. The polaroids is totally black. I resulted in using F32 at 8 seconds to get a decent exposure... I am new to this, but is something wrong with this. I just bought another light meter to double check my existing, but it reads perfectly.

Any advice?

Re: Sinar F1 & Strobe

Nope, just a lot of questions... You do know the difference between light and flash meters? What meter did you use? How was it set and what did it read? How do you trigger the flash? Did you pull the slide?

I used the sekonic light meter - and switched it to flash with cord, the sync cord was attached to my meter.

Is there a x on the Sinar... if so, I can't seem to find it. Does the room need to be fully dark? I had some ambient light... but that shouldn't matter should it?

The 8-second exposure is throwing us off, why would you do a long exposure with strobe light as the primary source?

You understand that strobe is "flash", it takes place in 1/125th or faster, correct? You need to use a Sync cord or triggering device with your lens to fire the strobe in sync when opening the shutter. Most people will set their lens to 1/60th or 1/30th when shooting flash, and the actual strobe flash occurs in a fraction of that time.

With a modern lens in a popular Copal shutter, there will be a PC Sync outlet, a small male extension that will fit into a female Sync cord running to a wireless transmitter or directly to the strobe itself.

The room doesn't have to be dark but generally the strobe will greatly overpower the ambient lighting and with a short exposure the ambient will play an insignificant role in the exposure.