Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to the movements of view cameras

New to the movements of view cameras

So I got my camera. Shen Hao TZIIB + 180mm f/5.6.

I've been reading some books and articles on focusing.
    These books have good explainations, but I find many lack practical understandable examples.

I wish to start this thread to be a collection of "assignments" people can do to get familiar with large format photography. I am a new beginner itself, my camera is about a week old now; so I will need your help too.

Assignment 1:
    objective: control the perspective of the building
    Task:
    - read standard parrallel with the building lines.
    - front standard adjusted to hearts content.

Assignment 2:
    objective: control the plane of focus
    Task:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gR4m7...E7C5D&index=25

Assignment 3:
    objective: control the plane of focus part 2
    task:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLJyB...eature=related
    (at 1 minute 16 seconds)
    - when you have a row of bottles or subjects.
    - rear subject in focus
    - front subject in focus
    - everything in focus

Re: New to the movements of view cameras

Wow, this is a great idea! I'm relatively new to this myself, only about two months into it. Once I get the some acceptable scans, I plan on contributing to these assignments.

As for everybody else here, it seems like there are plenty of people here that have more than enough skill to control all conceivable camera movements. Maybe they too could post some assignments for the newbies?