Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ries Tripod advice

Ries Tripod advice

Would a Ries C600 support a Sinar X with a Betterlight scan back? Ries lists the maximum supported weight at 14 lbs, which is what the Sinar + Betterlight would weigh. I have a Slik GrandMaster CF and a Gitzo Studex, and use them with Manfrotto 405 or Sinar Pan Tilt heads. Both are extremely stable, but aren't very compact for travel. I've never used a wooden tripod before, so advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Kumar

Re: Ries Tripod advice

I use a Ries and love it---they are very conservative in their rating when it comes to wieght and they are very stable platforms---but I've never thought of them as being all that compact.
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

This one folds up to 21", so reasonable, I think?

Kumar

I have owned quite a few brands and like the Ries over all of them. Best features compared to a Gitzo is the ability to adjust each leg angle and the lock knob design works with gloves on. Once set up they are a solid as any tripod I have used, but I would also not call them compact. I prefer the one section legs over the two section legs, easier to set up and really not that much larger.

Drew Wiley

I don't have a scanning back, but have used a C100 Ries with a Sinar F2 for long
    exposures, even with very long bellows extensions. Plenty solid, because you can balance the rail anywhere you wish. In extreme situations, two rails clamps were
    mounted to a maple board, then this directly to the top of the tripod. Since the X
    camera is quite a bit heavier, I'd simply ask the Ries people if you could test the