Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 8x10 Eastman 2D Full Restoration - Input Please

8x10 Eastman 2D Full Restoration - Input Please

I restore antique cameras, mostly medium and large format, and it is a passion of mine for numerous reasons including the connection I feel to the finished camera and it makes getting equipment easier for me since I am a student and money is usually tight. Anyway, I am in need of an 8x10 so I've begun restoring a wonderful Eastman 2D (I'm 99% sure thats what it is from comparison to pictures, there are no markings on it). I've posted a thread in the For Sale/ Wanted section looking for parts and now I'm just looking for a little input/ guidance/ ideas for the restoration project.

If anyone has restored one of the cameras I'd love to hear about your experience and what you did to get the camera back to working order. Also, I'd like to hear about any improvements you made. Before any of the annoying naggers on here post some snide comment, yes I've read the other posts about restorations and Eastmans.

Two questions that I have deal with the front standard and its lack of movements and the rail extension. Did any version of these cameras come with a front standard that had swing and tilt? Is there any way to alter the camera so that it has front swing and tilt? As to the rail extension, does the camera require a set of extended or extra long bellows to use the rail extension or were the bellows made a standard size that expand long enough to stretch two rails (I'm re-leathering my bellows so I cant measure them at the moment)?

As usual, thanks to everyone that will inevitably help me out!

Re: 8x10 Eastman 2D Full Restoration - Input Please