Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking about Large Format

Thinking about Large Format

Hello, I'm a hobbyist photographer who's currently shooting with a simple Nikon d40.
    After reading about large format cameras in Ansel Adam's The Camera I became interested in Large Format.

I haven't decided whether I'll be getting into it, but wanted to join this forum as a way to live vicariously and ask questions as they come up.

I'm currently working on a photography blog where I want to document my neighbourhood as a way to get out and make pictures of what's around me, instead of trying to find Yosemite in the Ottawa Valley.

http://blackburnbycamera.wordpress.com/

Re: Thinking about Large Format

Hi and welcome to the community. There's a wealth of information on the Large Format Home Page as well as experienced users who can answer your questions.

Enjoy.

Also welcome to the forum. I have walked the same path over the past year, expanding from a Nikon D40/D90 to a 4x5 view camera. It is quite satisfying, but a lot to learn and a financial commitment, even on the cheap.
    David Aimone Photography
    Critiques always welcome...

Welcome to group therepy! You'll never really understand LF photography without actually doing it...a press camera Graphic/Busch/etc. is a fairly inexpensive way to get started and experience the wonder found in a BIG negative. Hope you decide to try it out!

Format Omnivore Brian C. Miller's Avatar

Welcome! Grab yourself a press camera like Vick said, and have fun. My first LF camera was/is a Graflex Super Graphic. Very easy to use, and very convenient. Well, as convenient as a view camera can be. Feel free to experiment and make mistakes.

Quote Originally Posted by Wallace Stevens
    They said, "You have a blue guitar,
    You do not play things as they are."

The man replied, "Things as they are
    Are changed upon the blue guitar."

check out

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/