Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Disappointed

Unhappy Disappointed

As you can tell from my post count, I'm new to the LF forum. I've been going out with the Dallas LF guys for several weeks now and I bought an Omegaview 45E 4x5" and a Fuji 135mm lens from my buddy Eugene who lives down the street. I've had a really great time learning about view cameras, LF film, development, etc. from Bob, Glenn, Michael, and Eugene... thank you very much!

Here's the first image I took with this camera. It was taken Saturday morning at SMU. Eugene developed the 4x5" film and gave me the negatives. I then scanned the negatives on an Epson V700 at 2400 DPI. That produced a "freakishly huge" file that was pretty difficult to work with. Here is the result... obviously reduced in size:

A 100% crop of the top of the dome... from the original scanned TIFF:
    You can see my fast-and-dirty noise/grain removal from the sky around the iron work.

Honestly, at this point, I'm am hugely disappointed with the results. Why?

1: The negative holders are a PITA to load (which you have to do in total darkness just by touch)
    2: The film is somewhat expensive ($1.25 a sheet)
    3: You can only take a few (8 for me) images in a day
    4: The camera is huge and very difficult to work with
    5: It's difficult (for me) to get the composition I want because everything is upside down
    6: Development of the film is expensive if you get it done at a lab
    7: If you develop the film yourself:
    a) it has to be done in the dark (duh)
    b) is messy
    c) takes forever
    d) is easy to screw up
    e) you have to wait 24 hours for the negatives to dry
    8: Takes forever to get a decent scanned image
    9: No EXIF data
    10: Dust and scratches EVERYWHERE! The images look like dirt was just thrown on them. You have to spend forever and a day inside Photoshop removing spots, hairs, scratches, etc. This was the worst part for me. IQ just didn't cut it but it could be my fault.