Thread: complete newness to advanced darkroom electronics

complete newness to advanced darkroom electronics

help me out here, i have never done any of this before...
    my school just recently acquired a besseler pm color analyzer, really old unit. i have it set up next to the omega color enlarger, as it is the only enlarger that could make full use of the device.
    how do i use it? do i have to calibrate it? what are the four dials that go from 0-100 used for?

and while i'm at it, what exactly is a densitometer used for? i hear that they are useful, but what exactly do they do? i can assume that it measures the density of the negatives, but exactly what does that do that makes these indispensable?
    thanks.

Joel Edmondson

Re: complete newness to advanced darkroom electronics

Calibration isn't really necessary unless you are transferring settings from another unit or trying to directly use the readings from a color analyzer. There is always a possibility that the dichroic filters have faded and may not give you the full range indicated on the dials but in most instances (I am assuming here) you are probably going to be using this in an "empirical" (trial and error) mode.
    As for the densitometer, it does indeed measure optical density and is helpful in determining the relationship between exposure and development; x exposure at x time in selected developer at x temperature and x agitation yields x density (with the "x" being your chosen variables). There is also a reflection densitometer which is used for evaluating the paper characteristics.
    Note that there is the possibility of replacing the dichroic filters in the event they are faded.

Joel Edmondson