Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Michael Adams Sues over Proposed Auction of Ansel Prints

Eric Biggerstaff

Michael Adams Sues over Proposed Auction of Ansel Prints

Just saw this on MSNBC, sort of LF related I suppose.

Kind of interesting.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/35714455...ts_books_more/
    Eric Biggerstaff

www.ericbiggerstaff.com

Re: Michael Adams Sues over Proposed Auction of Ansel Prints

I'm no lawyer, (I just play one on TV) but my understanding of the bankruptcy laws is that almost every contract can be voided by a bankruptcy judge. That's how bankrupt companies get out of leases, labor agreements, etc. I doubt Michael stands a chance of winning this one.

Etobicoke (west Toronto), west of the mighty Humber...

If it was donated, then to me that's just theft. If they're going bankrupt, then they should donate it in turn to a worthy similar institution. Here is another case in which the law is potentially an ass. I would hope that Adams' lawyer could successfully argue that this type of liquidation is not in the spirit of the original agreed purpose and that the prints should be donated or returned to the family.

Can one condition donations to prevent opportunistic theft?
    When I was 16 I thought my father the stupidest man in the world; when I reached 21, I was astounded by how much he had learned in just 5 years!

-appropriated from Mark Twain

If Michael has a case, it will depend on the wording of that donation agreement. I have gifted work, not mine, to museums over the years; in every case, it has been stipulated that once the prints are donated, they become the property of the museum, and can be sold at their discretion. In other words, a gift is a gift, perhaps in this case with strings attached.

So, I can only asume that this was a differently worded agreement between Ansel and the Fresno Museum from those with which I am familiar.