Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Greetings from South/West Australia

retrogrouchy

Greetings from South/West Australia

Hi all, long time occasional lurker here, joining up to pump you all for information

I've been shooting DSLRs for a few years (I'm polyglot on dyxum.com) and an RZ67 for about a year now (yep, polyglot on APUG too), doing my own B&W processing and analogue printing. Got started on FB recently and will be giving a little show of MF images from my travels through Cambodia soon. Check out the link in my signature for some examples of what I get up to.

I'm joining up here because I want a more flexible camera for my landscape work, specifically movements. And wider angle than I can get from the RZ67.

I realise that all y'all are no doubt sick of "which camera do I buy" threads so to head that one off, can you refer me to a comprehensive summary of LF cameras that are readily available and that compares their features? I know vaguely what I want, just not what brands/models will give me that.

thanks,

Re: Greetings from South/West Australia

Welcome!

What format size and type (studio/rail or folding field camera) are you looking for? It would help to know so one can narrow down the search for info.

I have found that the view camera's movements allows me greater creative control of the image. With 120 color film, I found using a roll back on a 4x5 camera a good combo -- usually 6x7. Haven't used it much since I moved up to 8x10.

Vaughn

retrogrouchy

I think I'm looking for a field camera (well, something that can live in a backpack without fear of damage) of 4x5", maybe 5x7" if the price is right and I can get a reducing back. I want a 612 and maybe 617 rollfilm back for affordability and I-can-process-that reasons. As for movements: front rise, a little fall, front tilt and swing. I probably don't need back movements. Oh, and a modern lens of about 60mm to cover at least 617 and 4x5. Probably a ~120mm and ~200mm eventually.