Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: First time to buy

First time to buy

Hi all,

I am new here and it is first time to post here, so i will ask this question.

I am new to film photography, and i just bought 2 film medium format cameras to start into film, but i am always thinking about large formats, many many photographers who are shooting digital these days said they were using film mostly large formats maybe, so i would like to get into large format photography as well even it is too late for me now, so what do you recommend me as a large format camera?

give me more than one option, i shoot landscapes and outdoors but i can shoot portraits sometimes, also reading about cameras making me to get crazy because really i don't know anything at all about those movements on some LF cameras and what i should look at in LF cameras, budget is not a big problem, also i was hoping or wish that if i can find any LF new completely [not used], and i wish to get 8x10, but i will accept 4x5 anyway, any recommendations?!!!

Re: First time to buy

It might conceivably help if we had some idea where you are located and knew more about you.
    Politically, aerodynamically, and fashionably incorrect.

Welcome to group therepy! For landscape and occasional portrature use, I would suggest a 4x5 Field camera or even an older Press camera (like the Crown or Super Graphic) since you probably won't need much more front movement than these allow for that type of shooting. The press cameras, especially, are often priced very attractively and will usually handle lenses from 90mm to 250mm with no problem; you will probably use the wide to normal lenses for most of the landscape shots and a longer lens (200mm to 250mm) for most of the portrait shots. Don't forget that you will also need a tripod heavy enough for these cameras, a focusing hood, and film holders to get started.

Quote Originally Posted by MIke Sherck View Post