Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: options for scanning 4x5

options for scanning 4x5

Can someone give me some options for scanning my 4x5 negatives? I am very new to LF, I have got the camera, I am gearing up to process my black and white. What I am now looking at is a way to convert to digital. I have been going over recent and past post and I am on overload. What scanner would give me the same file size as say my canon 5D or can you not compare a 4x5 scan with a 35mm?

Rick

Re: options for scanning 4x5

Quote Originally Posted by victornoir View Post
    Can someone give me some options for scanning my 4x5 negatives? I am very new to LF, I have got the camera, I am gearing up to process my black and white. What I am now looking at is a way to convert to digital. I have been going over recent and past post and I am on overload. What scanner would give me the same file size as say my canon 5D or can you not compare a 4x5 scan with a 35mm?
    Almost any flatbed scanner with a transparency head will give you the same quality as a DSLR. But, there is so much more detail in a 4x5 image that you can get far better quality than that.

If you take a 13-14Mp digital image, you get around 4500pixels x 3000pixels.

If you take a 4"x5" neg or tranny and scan it at 2400ppi, you get : 4 x 2400 x 5 x 2400 = 115.2Mp !!!

Kind of blows away the DSLR, doesn't it ?

As to what kind of scanner; the commonly accepted model is the Epson V700.
    Joanna Carter
    Grandes Images

UKLFPG

Or look for a complete (all the stuff that came in a original box-film holders, CDs with software, etc.) clean, low mileage, lightly used, 100% working perfectly Epson 4990. $250 seems to be about right today.
    Wayne
    Deep in the darkest heart of the North Carolina rainforest.

Wayne's Blog

FlickrMyBookFaceTwitSpacei