Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A good ol' "What happened here?" thread.

A good ol' "What happened here?" thread.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/3434895...51468/sizes/o/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/3434895...36133/sizes/o/

I'm new to 4x5 (and this forum!) and work in a gang dark room at school. I used what I've now read is the "antichrist," the Yankee tank. I developed 10 negatives one day and they came out fine. Then I developed 10 more some other day, and they came out with that "residue" on them.

That's not mottling is it? I've been searching around these forums for info, and see a lot of mention of mottling when using Yankee tanks. It sounds like mottling is just splotches of uneven development as far as I can understand. This looks like something was wrong with the chemicals I used and they left some sort of alligator skin on my negatives. I've tried re-fixing, soaking in hot water, using anti-stat negative cleaner... All with no results. Here are the details:

- HP5+
    - D76 1:1 for 11 minutes, side to side agitation for the first 30 seconds and 10 every 30
    - Water rinse for 30 seconds
    - Fix for 15 minutes (seems needlessly long, but that's what we were told to do), agitation 10 every 30
    - Water rinse for 2 minutes
    - Permawash for 2 minutes, continuous agitation
    - Water rinse for 5 minutes
    - Photo-flo for 1 minute, no agitation

Any idea what caused this, and how I can avoid it in the future? I'm betting something was up with the photo-flo... Unless this is just Yankee-itis. I can't imagine the tank caused this.

Confidently Agnostic!

Re: A good ol' "What happened here?" thread.

Don't fix for 15 minutes. With rapid fixer you can fix for 2.5 minutes or so (I usually go 4 or 5). I don't know if that would leave a residue like that, but it's way too long in any event and overfixing is a bad idea from an archival standpoint, from what I understand.