Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help with what went wrong . . .

Ron Miller

Help with what went wrong . . .

Guys,

I need a little help here trying to figure out what went wrong. It was really foggy over the weekend (250 feet max) and I went to the beach and then into the woods. Nveer shot fog before. I'm in CT and it was in the 40's with snow on the ground so it was dense. I am a newbie (less then a year) but I have spend a while getting a pattern of development down to I know I am consistent. And the water is filtered.

Here are the particulars:
    1. TMAX 400 developed in Precsysol EF and fixed in an alkaline fixer. Both fresh before start. Both in filtered water. Same amount of time, temps, agitation, etc - consistent.
    2. They were shot at different locations and 2 were after a fairly long walk so the film should have acclimated to outside temps.
    3. Developed in daylight tank that I am consistent in using and did not have a problem.
    4. The 3 photos were in 2 different batches. In each of these 2 batches there were also other sheets (that were not taken in the fog) that came out exactly as I planned.
    5. Developed at N+0 which is 10.5 minutes in the Prescysol EF.

I'm at a loss here. is there something I need to know about shooting in dense fog? Is this "fogging"? I cannot say that I have ever seen fogging (just read about it, not seen it).

I'm at a loss...

** Please forgive the "quick" scans. A lot of dust on the glass.

Thanks,
    Ron

Re: Help with what went wrong . . .

Looks like insufficient agitation.

Ron Miller

My agitation routine is :
    1. Continuous for 1st minute.
    2. Then for 10 seconds every 3 minutes thereafter.

The shadows seem okay, it's just the highlights(fog) that is screwed up.

I use the same routine for all films in Prescysol EF.

Again, other sheets developed at the same time (in the tank) came out as expected. The sheets that came out as expected did have substantially more shadows.