Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Recomended 4x5 B&W film

Recomended 4x5 B&W film

I have been away from large format for awhile and want to get back into it. A long time ago I shot Kodak Plus X and loved fine grain. Looking at the photo supply houses it would appear PX is no longer made. What is the modern equivalent? Ilford Delta? I like the slower films. I notice that Tri-X is now rated at 320. How is the grain on this film? Any recommendations or info on B&W film would be appreciated. Thanks.

Bill

Re: Recomended 4x5 B&W film

Quote Originally Posted by William Sherman View Post
    ..... A long time ago I shot Kodak Plus X and loved fine grain...... Ilford Delta? I like the slower films. I notice that Tri-X is now rated at 320. How is the grain on this film? Any recommendations or info on B&W film would be appreciated. Thanks.

Bill
    Good morning Bill, and welcome to LFPF (I am a bit of a newbie to the forum too).

I loved Plus-X too, I am down to my last 2 boxes in the freezer.
    I am not one to play with a million films, so I can only comment on TXP, I love Tri-x too and when processed in D-76 at 1:1 the grain is pretty good. I have seen many beautiful pictures taken on T-max 100, but I just can't seem to fall in love with that film, Delta either for that matter.

Fuji Acros 100 - D76

Quote Originally Posted by chilihead View Post
    Fuji Acros 100 - D76
    There seems to be many fans of this emulsion on this board, for those of us who have never tried the film, can you give us a brief description of the film's palette.
    Thank you,

I have been away from large format for awhile and want to get back into it. A long time ago I shot Kodak Plus X and loved fine grain. Looking at the photo supply houses it would appear PX is no longer made. What is the modern equivalent? Ilford Delta? I like the slower films. I notice that Tri-X is now rated at 320. How is the grain on this film? Any recommendations or info on B&W film would be appreciated. Thanks.