Thread: Night photo & high contrast / N-2 / how to expose

Night photo & high contrast / N-2 / how to expose

I plan to photograph (at night) a beautiful bridge in London called Albert Bridge -- many images of it at night are available via a quick web search .... basically, it is brightly lit with lightbulbs along the side of the bridge and its suspension cables, but underneath the bridge, the bridge's vertical supports and the Thames river are in shadow.

I'm new to LF, and have not previously attempted to compress the contrast range using film development times (ie, n-1 or n-2).

Could I kindly ask how seasoned LF photographers would attempt to calculate the exposure at night of this subject? I have a Pentax Digital Spotmeter.

I highly suspect the range is > 5 stops between shadow detail (ie, under the bridge) and the highlights (the lightbulbs on the bridge).

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts you have on what part of the bridge you would use as the basis for a good exposure reading using a spotmeter; whether you would recommend n-1 or or n-2; and how I incorporate this into a brief for a processing lab.

This could be a ridiculous question ..... but does the exposure at which I take the photo (eg, 4 seconds at F16) remain the same, regardless of whether I tell the lab to process the film as normal, or at (say) n-2 to hopefully tone down the highlights?

I've even studied Mr Adam's book on the Negative, but I'm still not really there on the zone system, etc. I'm hoping an alternative explanation about a subject matter that I can relate to will help me tackle this contrasty night scene.

I will be using Fuji Acros 100 as the film.

My sincere thanks for your help.

Re: Night photo & high contrast / N-2 / how to expose

You picked a good film -- it has less of a reciprocity failure rate than most.