Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: E & H. T. Anthony & Co camera - How do I take a photograph with it?

E & H. T. Anthony & Co camera - How do I take a photograph with it?

Hello,

This is an E & H. T. Anthony & Co camera from the late 1800s. It belonged to my Great-Great Grandfather, who was a professional photographer. I have no experience in old photography and I'm looking for some help on how to take a photograph with it. After reading through this forum, I'm sure it's possible and I was hoping that someone might point me in the right direction on its operation. Can dry plates still be obtained somewhere or is some other medium available? How are the plates put into the camera? Also, you'll notice from the pictures that I don't have it extended the full way. Is there anything I can apply to soften the bellows without damaging its historic (and sentimental) value?

Thank you,
    David

Big Negs Rock!

Re: E & H. T. Anthony & Co camera - How do I take a photograph with it?

Hello David,

You may need to have the bellows replaced. Anything you do to them to soften them up won't get rid of any light leaks that may be there. You can put a low wattage bare light bulb inside the bellows and look for any bright spots -- i.e., light leaks.

Also, to get advice from the group, you might want to give us any serial numbers, names on the lens or camera, and anything else you can find. There are some incredibly knowledgeable folks on the forum. Finally, you should give us the measurements of the film holder you have photographed on the far right thumbnail.

BTW, it definitely can be used to make wonderful photos.
    Mark Woods

Large Format B&W
    Cinematography Mentor at the American Film Institute
    Past President of the Pasadena Society of Artists
    Director of Photography
    Pasadena, CA
    www.markwoods.com

Hi David,
    It is a pretty simple portrait camera. Can't tell the format size from the photo's, but most likely 8X10 or 11x14.