Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Showing... ready or not

Showing... ready or not

This morning I sauntered into a small local gallery just see what was what and got to talking about the beach... photography... umwelts... time... next thing you know I am doing a presentation with 3 ratty prints that had been living on the floor of my car since summer... I just held them up one by one in my hands (rather like Bob Dylan with his lyrics in the video) and got 3 consecutive WOWs. I am in a dead panic... I have been offered a one person show of my work based on these three prints...

They want to show about 20 - 25 prints (small gallery)... price point seems to be at about $400... 60me/40them split (a humble start I know).

Now I wondering if this might be a terrible mistake... I have only been photographing for 3-4 years... I am self taught... only about three people in the world have seen my work... my artistic CV consisits primarily of getting slammed for my ideas on this forum... oh... and most importantly I am not sure that I have 25 prints that I have absolute confidence in... I will probably have to shoot like a maniac in the next few months to make sure I have 'product'... there has got to be some kind of bad art karma in just shooting to show.

I honestly do not know what to do... and I have questions... I was too embarassed to ask questions at the gallery... they seemed to think I knew all about this suff so I played along.

Do you have to print editions right out of the gate?... heck do you even do editions... is everything supposed to be the same size?... I can do my own framing... should I?