Thread: Imagine a lens similar to Super Symmar XL 300mm f8, what will it like? how much?

Imagine a lens similar to Super Symmar XL 300mm f8, what will it like? how much?

I bet many who shoot format larger than 8x10 would like to have a wide angle lens similar to the SSXL series with superior color rendition and definition. I don't think Schneider is making one even though there is a clear gap in its lens line up. Such a lens would cover 16x20 with 6 inch shift (enough to cover 20x24), with size similar to the 210mm SSXL. If such a lens becomes available in the near future, what is your vision of such a lens? How much would you pay for it? I am new to ULF so I am throwing some wild idea here. I have a 12 inch metrogon f/6.3. I am planning on building a 16x20 camera that can use this lens.

james

Re: Imagine a lens similar to Super Symmar XL 300mm f8, what will it like? how much?

Some time back there was a group special order for the 300mm Sironar W (500mm rated image circle). I have no idea whether any lenses from that order are still available. A used copy usually crops up on Ebay maybe once a year. See:

http://www.badgergraphic.com/store/c..._detail&p=2024

My vague recollection is that it covers 16x20 but I can't swear to it.

Re: Imagine a lens similar to Super Symmar XL 300mm f8, what will it like? how much?