Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rome and Florence

Arrow Rome and Florence

I am on the verge of buying a LF camera, and I'm taking a trip to Rome and Florence this Christmas time. I haven't worked in LF before but I have been doing photography for many years. I am also experienced in the darkroom as well. I am looking for some tips tricks and ideas revolving around my trip (try to take film through security? or buy it and dev. there? etc) What kind of gear I should expect to buy, and some good LF cameras I should be looking at. (Right now Im looking at a perfect condition used Toyo-View 45CF with focus hood, lens, and Beattie Bright Screen).

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

- Jordan

Re: Rome and Florence

If you haven't used LF before, I suggest not planning to take LF equipment on your trip this Christmas.

LF requires a different approach to photography - slower, more disciplined. You spend far more time looking than making pictures. You would be far better off taking your trip with familiar equipment. Then, if you still want to make the LF purchase, do so at a later point when you can devote the time to learning a new approach to photography without the pressure of knowing that you are on a memorable vacation and feeling that you just have to take pictures of everything you see.

As Tillman Crane puts it, the tipping point with LF comes when the pain of seeing a photograph and not capturing it on film exceeds the considerable pain of getting out the camera, setting it up, composing, metering, and then exposing a negative.

Scott Davis

Regardless of which system you take with you, it is perfectly safe and feasible to carry your film on the plane with you; DO NOT CHECK YOUR FILM IN CHECKED BAGGAGE.