Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best B&Wfilm for drum scanning ?

Best B&Wfilm for drum scanning ?

Hi guys , I would appriciate some tips or advice on the best films to use for scanning
    rather than traditional darkroom proccess (i just can't get a darkroom together at the moment)i also shoot 8x10 and don't have a 8x10 enlarger.
    I have never tried to scan mono before but the general consensus is mono doesn't scan well,how true is this, and what is the best way to go.cheers Gary

Re: Best B&Wfilm for drum scanning ?

> the general consensus is mono doesn't scan well

First time I have heard this. B&W scans great, none of that nasty color stuff to worry about. Hard to beat Tmax, and for 8x10 Tmax 400 would be the way to go, since grain does not matter. It has remarkable range and scans very well. As others have said, you want a slightly thinner/flatter negative for best results with a consumer grade scanner.

is there a bad film?

TMX, Delta 100, TMY and Acros have some of the finest grain and all scan very well. But I just had some HP5 drum scanned and those scans looked great.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary Tarbert View Post
    Hi guys, I would appreciate some tips or advice on the best films to use for scanning rather than traditional darkroom process (I just can't get a darkroom together at the moment) I also shoot 8x10 and don't have a 8x10 enlarger. I have never tried to scan mono before but the general consensus is mono doesn't scan well, how true is this, and what is the best way to go. Cheers Gary
    I do my own drum scanning of 5x4 Tri-X souped in XTOL 1:3. Certainly from my viewpoint the "general consensus" is wrong. Scanning B&W film is different than scanning color materials, but not necessarily more difficult. You just have to know what you are doing, like everything else.