Thread: Photoshop CS3 Black and White

Photoshop CS3 Black and White

As many of you may know, the current version of Photoshop has a new way of converting colour to black and white. I'm just beginning to try it out.

Two questions:

What are your views/suggestions on this utility for converting to black and white?

What are you views/suggestions on using this utility on a black and white negative that has been scanned RGB?

Thanks

Re: Photoshop CS3 Black and White

It's an interesting addition to CS3, but I still feel most comfortable with the channel mixer.

3d Visual Effects artist

I haven't used it, but it looks to be what you could get with the aforementioned channel mixer, hue/saturation and selective color layer types (when stuck under a desaturate layer or channel mixer->monotone layer).

That being the case, I don't think you'll see any benefit when used on scanned B&W film/prints. Because basically what those tools do is tell which particular color to make brighter or darker (when doing a B&W) so scanning something that is already B&W will have very little effect with those tools. If you look at the RGB channels of a B&W scan (even if scanned in color mode) you'll find that the channels are almost identical. So, at most you'll probably just push scanner noise/grain around. and get no real change to the image tones.