Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Prophoto RGB?

Prophoto RGB?

I was wondering if anyone out there is scanning transparencies using Prophoto RGB, and how they might be using it in their workflow. I am assuming one would capture and color balance in Prophoto and then change the profile right before output?

Thanks

John

Re: Prophoto RGB?

The Prophoto RBG space is unnecessarily large for scanning transparencies. It holds many more colors than a chrome can. Joseph Holmes Ektaspace is better matched to the color gamut of a chrome. Prophoto is mostly useful for digital captures.

You need to change the color space only if you send out a digital file for printing. If you print on your own printer, it will be converted at the time of printing.

I have been using the ProPhotoRGB space for most images since about 1999. There can be more room for edits, but also more room for errors. In general, web images get converted to sRGB on output, and print images go to various CMYK spaces as needed.

The idea behind a larger than you need colour space is that there can be less clipping upon conversion to CMYK. However, there can also be a greater risk of having out of gamut colours. As with anything, it can take some practice, and trial and error. Sometimes this choice can work well, and other times it can hinder your results.

You should also compare the native colour space of the scanner to ProPhotoRGB prior to choosing it. You might find that the scanner RGB colour space might offer more accurate CMYK comversion potential. As with any work of this sort, watch your information palette Total Ink, as well as the individual CMYK percentages, and be aware of out of gamut areas. Some high end scanners have a more usable colour space than others, though quite often AdobeRGB can be another good compromise.