Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: vietnam in october...advice welcome

vietnam in october...advice welcome

i am heading to vietnam for a photo trip for two weeks in october.

i'm just beginning to plan my trip so thought i would bring it up to the LF audience and see if anyone would like to share their experiences (both good and bad). the way i tend to shoot is somewhat off the cuff. i love driving around and stumbling upon things, but will also plan to hit some specific sights as well. for this type of shooting is it best to hire a taxi (or guide) for the day and have them take me around? i will concentrate mainly outside of the bigger cities.

Do i need commercial shooting permits and where might i obtain one?

what are the logistics of traveling in VN with a 4x5 camera?

i have read some of the earlier posts and they will be quite helpful, but i'm seeing if anyone wants to add anything, as all suggestions would be helpful.

fwiw, i plan on taking a carry-on suitcase that holds all 4x5 gear, shooting quickload, + a lowepro backpack with hassleblad, lenses, film, etc. oh and a small duffle for for a suitcase.

thanks in advance

jeff ross

Re: vietnam in october...advice welcome

I was there three years ago, but only with a 35mm. Internal flights are cheap, and the north-south train service is good, but slow. The intercity busses are slow, because the road conditions are not great. The only place I can think of where you would need a tripod permit might be at Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum in Hanoi, or the former presidential palace in Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC). Lots of great places for LF. HCMC is a short cheap flight from Siem Riep, Cambodia, for a quick side trip to Angkor Wat.

Be very careful with your valuables. I didn't have any problems, and I was working there for six months, but I spoke to a few people who lost items on the street from snatch and grab theives.