Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Purely Theoretical Musings on Resolutions and Formats...

Purely Theoretical Musings on Resolutions and Formats...

i have a question regarding the amount of information captured on film, as i am new to such ponderings. i have spent the past many years blissfully shooting sheet film and happy as a clam in mud doing so. however, due to some recent overseas travels i have also started working with a mamiya 7 system. the 6x7 outfit was bought for times when i could sacrifice a little image quality for the convenience of shooting with the small RF. at least that's what i initially thought. however, much to my astonishment, the prints i was able to make from the M7 held up to enlargement as well as 4x5 even when printed at a decent size (30" in the long dimension). i was quite surprised by this so started doing some thinking on the matter and came up with the following reasoning...

the mamiya 7 lenses at f/8 are capable of resolving somewhere around 110 lp/mm
    most large format lenses, such as the 110xl, at f/22 are capable of resolving somewhere around 60 lp/mm

i choose these as these are common working apertures for me. now, taking the approximate film size into account, one gets the following...

4" x 5" at 60 lp/mm = 46,451,520 lp
    6cm x 7cm at 110 lp/mm = 50,820,015 lp

am i correct in assuming that the relative closeness of the amount of information captured by the respective formats explains the similar quality of the prints? it seems to my simple mind that if there is a comparable amount of information on the film then the enlargements are going to be close, regardless of the size of the original.

but then i am likely oversimplifying things here and hoped to elicit corrections from those more knowledgeable than i.

i appreciate any inputs,

Clay

Re: Purely Theoretical Musings on Resolutions and Formats...