Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: weddings

weddings

i have a friend who ask me to take pics on his wedding. Frankly I am a beginner.. I do take shots but just for fun. I haven't tried weddings...

Is there a way for me to know even basics? Could you guys show some samples so that I could have an idea.. thanks

Re: weddings

Weddings with large format camera...he must be rich.
    Greg Lockrey

Wealth is a state of mind.
    Money is just a tool.
    Happiness is pedaling +25mph on a smooth road.

Would I be right in saying that weddings are the most stressful photographic task there is? So much pressure - so many vested interests, so many setups that simply must be captured well with little ability to control environment, mise en scene, or timing. I know some folks have used large format for weddings (speed graphics et al), but I'd wager you would need to have a very good relationship with the marrying couple to be able to set these satisfyingly.
    I have shot a few weddings, on frustrating 35mm, and more satisfying 6x4.5, and the things I realise are:
    1. It is important to plan the day like a military operation - where you need to be and when, how long you have to get the photos, and who "needs" to be in them (groups of family, friends, bride, groom, bridal party, etc etc)
    2. The right equipment and amount of film stock, for outdoors and in, with backups - can film be re-loaded quickly (it is very worth having a friend along to do this, and to help manage/crowd control who's in the photos).
    3. Flash gun - powerful enough to bounce, or mounted high above the camera on one of those things that swivels so it is always high above, whether landscape or portrait - so you can avoid nasty side shadows and "red eye".
    4. What the couple want at the end - basic prints with the negs, a full album, digital copies? All this is best budgeted and planned beforehand so you can give a realistic assessment of how long this will take and how much it's gonna cost