Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What do you do for real backpacking like 4 daytrips

Rio Oso shooter

What do you do for real backpacking like 4 daytrips

Hello,
    I have been for the topic to come up and have done searches, but to no avail. I already have a good Lowepro backpack for my 4X5 Toyo AX and 3 lenses that I really like. It is very functional and really fits my needs nicely. I want to know what do you guys do for backpacking for 4 or 5 days? I have a Gregory 70 L. pack and have the photobackpacker cases for all my stuff. I guess I would just transfer the camera gear over the backpacking pack but I do not know where to put it all, top, bottom ....... I am new to backpacking but this camera is leading me in directions that I never dreamed of! You guys always come up with ideas that would never occur to me without trial and error, and error sucks!

Thanks,
    Richard

Re: What do you do for real backpacking like 4 daytrips

When I put my gear into a large pack I usually put it into a dry-bag (the type used for gear stowage in kayaking). Keeps it together and keeps out dust and of course water. Then it goes in last for quick access.

Richard,

For multiday backpacking trips, I carry my camera gear in a small, lightweight daypack. I've used a number of different models over the years. Here's a photo of one, a Northface Yavapai ca. 1999, complete with all my camera gear (minus tripod) from a 6-day trip I took several years ago.

This daypack then goes in the top section of my Kelty Super Tioga backpack (along with my clothes). It's right there on top when I need it. The tripod gets strapped horizontally to the frame across the top of the pack with a couple bungee cords. And, once I set up camp, I can take of with the daypack, tripod in hand, for some photography - leaving the big, heavy pack at my campsite.

Kerry

It has been awhile -- since I moved up to 8x10 and my equipment weighs 60 pounds!