Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Assignment never tackled before

Assignment never tackled before

I have been asked to shoot some jewelry in natural light settings for publication.
    My thoughts are concentrated on the type of film I want to use.
    I know I will need film latitude and I was wondering if instead of using transparency and using negative film and then having scans made would be a problem.
    I am new to product photography and I am not sure what the standards are at the moment.
    My brain tells me that all they want is a digital file anyway.
    I haven't decided yet if I will shoot with 4x5 or 8x10, but that is of no importance at the moment.
    Also, I am not sure what I should charge for this assignment.
    Sounds like this won't be just one product but a series.
    I do not know all the details yet, they will come at my next meeting on monday.
    Any thoughts?

Re: Assignment never tackled before

Color neg. 4x5.

Get a lot of small reflector cards and mirrors to manipulate the natural light.

Your fee should reflect how the client is using the images. Advertising? Catalog? Editorial?

Find out what they want - is it a digital file, if so, how big, for what size reproduction. If this is catalog shooting, it would be a real waste to shoot 8x10. Also find out if you are expected to do the pre-press work.

Personally I'd rent a digital if you don't have one and base the megapixels on what you rent against the largest print size they'd go. For catalog size a six megapixel would do just fine, poster size maybe 10-12 mp's.
    "I invent nothing, I rediscover"
    August Rodin

My Now old Photo Site

I think the client is probably looking for photos in Domenico's short depth of field, creamy style rather than a generic catalog shot. I hope that is the case!

While you probably haven't done much product photography there is no reason you can't do something wonderful.