Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First 11x14 Prints are in!!

Red face First 11x14 Prints are in!!

Finally got two sheets of 11x14 shot and processed. To avoid any confusion on where any screw ups may have occured, I had the film developed at MV Labs in NYC. This means any screw ups on the negative were all me. =)

And there were screwups....enought to make my LF Print Exchange Group groan and wonder whether I'm going to be giving them crap in January. But I think the mistakes were consistent, and I'm just getting started! Don't worry, I'll have this cleared up soon!

My scanner isn't big enough for 11x14, so I'm attaching digital pics of the photos. Despite what you may see in the poor quality digital photos, everything seems fine except for the loss of image at the bottom of each frame. The fountain shot employed little rise, so I'm guessing the bellows sagged and got in the way. The building shot (underexposed) required a TON of rise. I'm guessing that the error I'm seeing may be a combination of bellows sag + I ran out of image circle. These shots were using the 360mm Symmar Convertible lens with a specified image circle of 500mm. I was stopped down to f45 in both shots. I would have thought that it would have provided plenty of rise for the building shot...am I overlooking something?

Notes to self for this weekend's attempt:

1) Get a spot meter so I don't under expose again. Or average light + shadows on the Seikonic L-358.
    2) Bring loupe.
    3) Check all four corners of the ground glass to make sure I'm seeing an image. Try to estimate how much rise I can get before I lose image.

Any other tips? Do you know of any lenses that will give me a bigger image cirsle in this focal length? The building shot is a great example of how I want to use this camera.....LOVE ARCHITECTURE!

Still determined!
    --A

Re: First 11x14 Prints are in!!

Alec -