Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Workshops

Workshops

Greetings and good afternoon all. I am new to LF and have been scanning various sites looking for workshops that offer insight into practical usage of the LF camera.
    I live in NJ and would think being so close to NYC there must be someone somewhere close by? Any info or leads would be greatly appreciated. I am also very interested in workshops on wedding photography, (sorry I know it is a MF question) again any leads or help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all.

Philm

Re: Workshops

Michael A. Smith and Paula Chamlee`s Vision & Technique workshop in Bucks County sounds like something for you. Bucks County, Pennsylvania isn`t far from NYC.
    It`s a very nice workshop with two working photographers who`s approach to LF photography is very straightforward. I attended last year and had a great time.
    And you just have to like M&P(and Paulas great food)

Highly recommended.

Phil -

What are you thinking about in terms of timing?

You will have a lot more choices during the summer than during the Fall/Winter/Spring period.

The Peters Valley Craft Center (http://www.pvcrafts.org) usually offers several LF workshops each summer. Peters Valley is one of New Jersey's best-kept secrets. Their location in the Delaware Water Gap Recreational Area is nice (very rural) and they have a well equipped darkroom. Classes tend to range from 5 - 10 people, and rarely over 12 at a time. One of the best features, however, is that they only offer one photo workshop at a time, but it is in parallel with other workshops in ceramics, woodworking, weaving, jewelry making, blacksmithing, or painting, and the opportunity to mingle with artists and crafts people working in other disciplines is really neat. Lodging is "funky" (think college dormitory, then reduce your expectations a notch or two), but the food is outstanding.