Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: optical aids for focussing

optical aids for focussing

I bought 2 pair of 2.75Diop. glasses at a flea mkt. for $10. Then popped the lenses out of one and Siliconed them on top of the mounted pair. Now I can look at my G.G. from 5" and get the whole 6x7 image. Much better than 14" out with my 2.75 reading glasses. It must be great to have "young" eyes aga in.

optical aids for focussing

hi george' i also don't have young eyes anymore i use 2 pwer reading glasses from the drug store $22 i can see the gg very well on 4x5 i'm also using longer lenses when i was younger i always shot very wide ? i've been using the view camera for 228 yrs for commercial and fine art now finally i have seperated my cameras into my needs see ya!

Re: optical aids for focussing

Hi George, I'm trying out a focussing hood from an old Mamiya RB67

I am not trying to hijack this thread, but this question is regarding "focusing aids". I wear glasses now and when I wear contacts I cannot focus any camera I have very well. Any guesses/reasoning here? I'd love to hear from anyone on this.

Before anyone may ask: No, I am not blind with the contacts on, I actually see better close-up with contacts than with glasses and I do get annual eye check-ups.
    Last edited by darr; 25-Jul-2006 at 14:40.

Photographer, Machinist, etc. Jeffrey Sipress's Avatar

I use an Optivisor with the #10 lensplate, which is a 3.6x power. Now I have both hands free to work the camera as I'm analyzing the GG. And I use both eyes. No squinting through a loupe that you have to hold under the hood. Besides, I use one of those elastic silvery head bags. Try getting your hand in there!

Jeffrey, I looked at the Optivisor on line and it says it is for viewing objects at a distance of four inches. How do you use it when viewing the GG? Do you have to try and keep it about four inches from the GG? It looks interesting and I also use one of the silver bags.