Thread: 4x5 lenses

4x5 lenses

I'm just getting into 4x5 again. Right now I have a 108mm Wollensak lens, my only lens. I'm looking into future lenses and from what I see Fujinon and Schneider seem to be rated the best. Next lens I'm thinking about is a 150mm, if possible. My Wollensak seems sharp stopped down, but I do notice some softness to a lot not stopped down. Contrast is sort of monotone, not sure if that's as it should be. Fujinon seems like a great lens, but Schneider and Rodenstock are certainly all great too. Fujinon is a newer lens, however, although I do like the German ones. For black and white, is a 150mm Fujinon just as good as Schneider or the other, or maybe even better - any opinions?

Re: 4x5 lenses

150mm/f5.6 lenses are common and not very expensive. The love of German glass seemed to keep the prices of the Fuji glass down for awhile (and a lack of North American distribution), but they are fine lenses. I own several in the W series for different formats (180mm to 360mm).

So starting out with 4x5, any of the 150mm/5.6 plasmats will do. Often quite reasonable are the Caltar IIN (re-branded Rodenstock)...I used a 150/5.6 for years with 4x5.

Buy a couple -- a spare shutter would be nice to have.
    Last edited by Vaughn; 12-Apr-2024 at 20:22.
    "Landscapes exist in the material world yet soar in the realms of the spirit..." Tsung Ping, 5th Century China

All are used lenses now, so make sure that the shutter is working properly and that the glass has no haze, scratches or separation in the elements.
    Then if you buy any of the big four, you will have an excellent lens to start your adventure. (Fujinon, Nikon, Schneider,Rodenstock in any order) I have a Caltar llN which has just been pointed out to be Rodenstock, it is fabulous.
    Good luck and enjoy!