Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tele for LF landscape with background compression (8x10)

Tele for LF landscape with background compression (8x10)

Hello,

I am new to large format and am shooting and developping my first sheets.

I had the opportunity to buy a used chamonix 8x10 and decided to jump in. After shooting a year on a yashica TLR, i had a good idea of how versatile a single focal length can be. With my fuji 250 and 360 lenses, i have the most versatile medium wide to normal ranges covered.

For compressed landscapes that require a moderate tele on smaller formats, there seem to be some challenges in 8x10.
    (Tripod stability, bellows, shutter shock, wind,…).

Solutions:
    1) use a smaller format camera and skip these shots in 8x10
    2) use a reducing back to 4x5
    3) digital crop of the negative
    4) spend €€€ on a nikon T600

I was en route for option 1 and 3 until i stumbled on a reasonable priced nikon T600.

What are your experiences for this kind of landscapes or other shots that need tele on 8x10?

Examples photo’s are welcome!

THX
    Steven

Drew Wiley

Re: Tele for LF landscape with background compression (8x10)

How much bellows extension do you actually have with your 8x10? I sometimes use a Fuji 600C on my 8x10, which is a lot more compact than any tele. Long lens work is a lot easier with 4x5 format, however. In terms of distant subjects, the limiting factor in image quality is generally the quality of the intervening atmosphere itself. You might or might not get more detail on 8x10, depending on how clear the air is, whether heat waves are present or not, etc. Wind vibration can be a serious issue too. Frankly, I get a lot more use out of my 450C instead, when it comes to 8x10, although that same lens makes an excellent long length for 4x5 film format as well.