Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Platinum/Palladium prints...varnished

Platinum/Palladium prints...varnished

Hello all,
    I have been doing large format photography since 1987, but only silver processes. For about 10 years I have wanted to try platinum printing, but had my hands full, so never tried it. Finally a few weeks ago I took the plunge, and with Bostick and Sullivan's excellent resources on Photoshop curves, chemistry and supplies, I was able to get started with pleasant results. Coming from a 35+ year background of printing on Double weight fiber based glossy silver gelatin paper, the platinum prints looked a bit empty. I know what you're going to say..."The matt finish of the Platinum print is part of its beauty." I won't disagree, but I decided to try some Museum grade varish (which won't color over time) and I brushed on a coat of satin finish. Immediately the blacks in the print came alive, and the print had new life. I might be the only odd ball wanting satin finish Platinum prints, and I'm happy to keep it that way.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_MG_0496.jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	245753

Name:	_MG_0498.jpg 
Views:	94 
Size:	103.4 KB 
ID:	245754

Name:	_MG_0499.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	21.2 KB 
ID:	245755

Drew Wiley

Re: Platinum/Palladium prints...varnished

What on earth is a "museum grade varnish"? What are the ingredients? What is the brand? What is the solvent? Butyl acetate print lacquers do yellow over time. Shellacs eventually cross-link and craze. Polycrystalline wax is wax. Were you using some kind of acrylic? Damar varnish? To hold up, the coating would need the same expansion/contraction coefficient as the paper, and that would be a tall order unless the paper itself is firmly glued down to a dimensionally stable substrate.
    Last edited by Drew Wiley; 21-Jan-2024 at 15:41.

Although we await more “technical“ information as to the varnish, and how you applied it, my compliments on the beautiful images!