Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loaded Film Holders

Big Bend

Loaded Film Holders

I store all my film in the freezer, but should I store my loaded film holders in the freezer too? Sometimes I don't know how long it will be before I get out to shoot again. So far I haven't had any problems, but I'm wondering where you all store your loaded film holders?

Forks

Re: Loaded Film Holders

I have no personal experience on this, but I would fear some consendation issues such as you can have loading frozen film into holders before it comes up to room temperature. Better just shoot it after you load it!

Big Bend

That's what I was thinking. Time to shirk my responsibilities and go shoot about 60 sheets of film!

I was also thinking that could make parts of the holders brittle over time, being frozen and unfrozen. I have NOT done this,
    I was just checking here first.

Forks
    Last edited by Joe Forks; 19-May-2006 at 07:55.

I've had negative film, b/w and color, in film holders for months at a time without any obvious adverse effect. It is possible that transparency film might show some effects if kept at room temperature for extended period of time. I've never tried frrezing film holders, so I won't try to give you advice about it.

Michael E. Gordon

I store loaded holders in the fridge without any consequences. Unopened boxes of film are stored in the freezer.

I do what Michael does. The holders are in zip lock bags, and I let them get to room temperature before I open the bag. I also load up my Grafmatics, put them in zip lock bags, and have never had a problem with the conventional holders or the Grafmatics. I can use B&W film for years after the expiration date this way; if it sits at room temperature in the darkroom (80F plus in summer) the film will fog much sooner.

Big Bend

The Fridge sounds like the best idea. My wife isn't gonna like it

Thanks for the answers.

Forks

Michael E. Gordon

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Forks