Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help with lens and shutter selection for a DIY camera

Need help with lens and shutter selection for a DIY camera

Hi guys I'm rather new to this world and I could use some help. I'm a tinkerer and maker and ever since I saw this video about a 3D-printed camera I've wanted to try my hand at making one. It's been 4 months now and I've finally found the right base for what I want to build. The Oxygen 35mm pano camera by panomicron. But there is one problem with this, the lenses. This camera uses large format lenses and shutters (or specific medium format lenses modified with a large format shutter) which are... well there are a lot of options. I could use some help figuring out what my best options are, what is the best bang for the buck in my price range, and just generally decoding this world.

Key info
    -This is the page on the lenses that work with oxygen. As I alluded to earlier there are two main options 1 use a large format lens (most easily with copal 0 and 1 sized shutters) and option 2 convert a Bronica ETR lens to a mechanical shutter of the same sizes. The guide does the latter as it was made while you could still buy a standalone copal shutter.

-I'm trying to keep the project under 400usd which leaves roughly 170 dollars for the lens. This is a general number and can be anywhere in that range.

-I mostly want to shoot landscapes with this camera.

-I'm willing and able to make modifications to the current design to allow for different configurations.

I've found a few options within my price range that look solid. All are large format lenses that have copal 0 or 1 shutters so far. But I want to explore the other side of this, is there a good place to find a copal shutter these days? The Bronica ETR lenses look reasonably priced and are much faster than the large-format lenses. With a reasonably priced shutter that feels like the best option to me but I just can't find any shutters.

My questions