Thread: Eastman View Camera No. 2-D

Eastman View Camera No. 2-D

Hello, I've been shooting with a Shenhao 5x4 for many years and am looking to get a 10x8 camera for making some larger contact prints. I saw this Eastman View Camera No. 2-D camera linked beneath for quite cheap and am wondering if anybody has any opinions on it? I have also looked at Deadorfs and Tachihara cameras, I prefer the style of the field cameras, though they are a liitle more expensive, although better quality so would be better in the longer run even if they are a bit more pricey.

https://wycameras.com/collections/la...era-no-2-d-exc

Re: Eastman View Camera No. 2-D

I've owned a 2-D for many years, and found it to be well-made and adequate for everything I've needed. However, the lack of a movable tripod base and rear rail might be problems for you: they would be for me, as might be the modifications to the tripod mounts. I certainly wouldn't buy this without an opportunity to personally inspect it. Lens boards can easily be made from 1/8 inch plywood. The price seems quite high by American standards.

I have an earlier 7x5 version and quite like it. The movable tripod base is very nice to have as one can balance the camera's weight over the tripod. Without it (and a rear extension), using a heavy lens might need additional support (2nd tripod) under the front on the camera.

The lack of front movements allow for a sturdy front-end and the full rear geared movements are usually sufficient to counter the lack in the front. Your other examples have better front movements and additional weight as a result. I have a Zone VI 8x10...a beast, but a fine machine in use.

The linked example seems particularily nice from the images, and seems to be priced reasonably if the bellows are in very good condition.
    "Landscapes exist in the material world yet soar in the realms of the spirit..." Tsung Ping, 5th Century China

Foamer