Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Durst Enlarger Laborator 184 Looong Exposures

Durst Enlarger Laborator 184 Looong Exposures

Hey all,

First time poster - I'm a photography studio manager for a college in California. We have a Durst Labordor 184 Enlarger that is set up to do horizontal mural prints. We have the full suite of condenser lenses, lens boards, lenses, and some "new" 1000 watt bulbs. We pretty much have everything that you could've acquired for this enlarger and its all in good shape. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-5773.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	66.9 KB 
ID:	242942

However, we have been experiencing some looooong exposure times for our mural prints. For instance, a 6x7 negative enlarged to 32" x 38" ish has been about a 10 - 15 min exposure with the lens wide open. 35mm enlarged to the same size or around 30x40 has taken around 30 - 40 minutes wide open.

I've put in a new 1000 watt bulb and have ensured that the correct condensers/lens are being used (as per a Durst manual) for each particular negative size.

Any thoughts on what might be the cause of this? And/or how to fix it?!

I've attached some pictures of our enlarger. Would super appreciate any tips/help/resources. Thank you!

Drew Wiley

Re: Durst Enlarger Laborator 184 Looong Exposures

Well, you could switch to a modern Durst colorhead instead, along with a more concentrated mirror box. And exactly what enlarging lens are you using, and at what f/stop ?
    I remember old Durst CLS301 causing me an issue because it printed too fast - even the extremely slow Ciba color medium would print 30X40 inch in about 15 SECONDS, not 15 minutes.

I'd be worried about what kind of heat buildup those very long exposures are causing. Hope you have an aggressive exhaust fan ported outside the building.

You might also want to check that there's no intervening thick white opal glass in the light path.

And have you tried more than one kind of paper, preferably fresh?