Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: digital backs

digital backs

Hi Guys

Its been a while since my last post. I dont know what is happening in the States but digital is making things very difficult for photographers here in the UK. As an Architectural photographer I strive for perfection and as far as I am concerened shooting on film on 5x4 gives me that. Unfortunately clients are increasingly refusing to pay for scanning and in some cases film. Simply because they are reveiving images from guys shooting on digital who make no extra charges. Have I got it all wrong can digital be better for architectue? If any of you guys are shooting on digital what do you use and how does it compare.

Thanks Simon

digital backs

First off, anyone shooting digital should be charging for digital capture, post-production, master films, web galleries, printed contact sheets, etc.

So to say your clients won't pay for film, processing and scanning is to say they are selling you a song and a dance 'cause they should be paying more for digital services. At least they do here in the States.

Now about "better". If you clients find digital more useful to their needs, then of course your clients knows digital is better. That doesn't mean your 5x4 isn't good, it simply doesn't offer your client what they need.

Clients drive the market. We supply a service.

digital backs

Thanks for your comments. Yes guys do charge for digital services. Unfortunately more and more clients just want the job done for the least money. Quality is really coming down. New guys with little or no experience are coming along and shooting for a fraction of the cost and producing inferior results in my opinion. Sounds like its better across the pond?

Simon

digital backs

No no, not better across the pond. Sounds more like the same now that you've expanded on your posting.

Personally I'm with you. 5x4 is better. But the client's drive for faster, more, right now, can bring down quality.