Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: photo on glass

photo on glass

How can I transfer a photograph on to glass? I am a stained glass artist, and I know there was a form of photography that did this. Can anyone tell me how? Would I use the negative directly to the glass? Thanks.

photo on glass

If I'm not mistaken, the glass was the negative itself. The glass would be coated with a thin film of emulsion and used as a normal piece of sheet film, albeit with a far longer exposure time. The reason they used glass was, I believe, in order to have a material that would allow light to pass through for the enlargement process, until the development of modern film. It was also far sharper than early film as well.

I can think of two ways to transfer the picture: coat the glass with an emulsion and make it the positive, or use laser etching. Of course, my experience in these matters is limited, so I could be completely missing something here.

Hope this helps in some small way.

multiplex

photo on glass

hi lois

you can purchase a liquid emulsion and coat the glass with it. you can enlarge right onto a piece of glass using an enlarger and regular photo-chemistry, or you can put the glass "in camera" as a dry plate . it might take a while tries to get it right. subbing the glass is the hard part. it requires you to clean the glass ( so water sheens off of it ) and then treat it with a substance like gelatin or poly urethane so the liquid emulsion has something to bind to.

mark pendersen gives great " step by step " instructions here:

www.alternativephotography.com/process_dryplate.html

whether you are using the glass in the camera or to print on, it is pretty much the same thing ...

good luck!

photo on glass

The suggestions given so far are excellent.