Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nikor Enlarger vs. Omege series D

Nikor Enlarger vs. Omege series D

Hello I am new to the wonderful world of large format phogotography and was wondering if anywone knew what type and model of enlarger I should get. Many say Omega series D enlargers are good. Right now, however I have a deal to get a Honeywell Nikor (not Nikkor) System 6x7 enlarger with 17 3/4" x 17 3/4" base. This system comes complete with-- everything-- needed in a dark room for a reasonable price. Since I am a beginner I am currently working with 4x5 negatives ...I am planning on printing them no bigger than 8x10. Is this a flexible enough system for me or only good for a while being only necessary for my current "beginner" wants and "needs" as most often I will be working no bigger than 8x10 but would sometimes like to go bigger. Is this system what I need?

A 6x7 enlarger is limited to 6x7 negatives. You want a 4x5 enlarger or bigger to handle 4x5 negatives. A bigger enlarger can usually handle smaller negatives but the other way doesn't work.

"6x7" refers to 6x7 centimeters, but "4x5" is 4x5 inches, so, illogical though it may seem at first, a 4x5 negative won't fit in a 6x7 enlarger.

Yes, it's confusing if you're just starting out...

I was wondering that The seller said it could fit that format but I would have to have a 4x5 negative carrier. Is there a specific 4x5 enlarger that is recommended? I know "omega" but I need something more specific like what it the model or type? Anywthing in the Omega D series, what about Beseler?

Once again the seller said the 4x5 format would fit with the enlarger if I had the right negative carrier is this incorrect?

4x5" film can not fit into a 2.25 x 2.75" (6x7cm) enlarger regardless of the carrier.

45 enlargers are available from Omega, Beseler, Durst, Fujimoto, Homerich, LPL and a few others. Honeywell never had any 4x5" units.