Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello and Help/Suggestions for first 4x5 setup

Hello and Help/Suggestions for first 4x5 setup

Hi everyone,

I'm a long time lurker and first time poster who's looking forward to becoming a more active part of this community.

I've been an enthusiastic photographer for the last 5 years or so and I shoot both digital and film. My current digital kit is a Olympus EM-10 micro 4/3 and my film cameras consist of a Nikkormat FTn and Olympus OM-1 SLR and two Rolleicord Va Type 2's. I shoot a mix of street/urban, auto and landscape. I develop my own B&W film and up until now have been just scanning the negatives. I will be joining a local photographer's group this year which will give me access to real darkroom equipment so I plan on learning about everything that goes with that. I've also been talking about getting a 4x5 camera for at least 2 years and I'm finally ready to make that "threat" a reality.

My plan is to use the 4x5 mostly for landscapes but also in-town/architectural so portability and a versatility of movements are important. My initial budget is in the neighborhood of 2k "all in" (camera, couple of lenses, etc.). I've done some research and have compiled a list of possible cameras. I'm hoping here might be able to provide some insight into the pros/cons of the cameras and help me narrow the list down to the finalists. Here's what I've come up with so far:

• Shen Hao HZX-IIa- Looks to have all the movements I would need but a little heavier than the others. Cost ~$1100
    • Shen Hao PTB45- Lighter than HZX but with no rear rise/fall/shift. Everything else seems good movement wise. Cost of ~$1000
    • Chamonix 4x5 N2 & N2- Both seem like good values with enough movements (no rear rise/fall/shift) and light weight. Cost of ~$1000
    • Chamonix 4x5 F1- pretty much same as N1 & N2 but with "asymmetrical" rear tilt which they claim is easier to use- New cost of ~$1100