Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: workshop horror stories

workshop horror stories

I have been serious thinking about plunking down some cash and signing up for an LF workshop, trekking around in the wilderness and exposing my shots to the raw criticisms of teachers and fellow students. But I have never done anything like this before, and I wonder, what will I do if I find myself stuck in the middle of nowhere with a bunch of peope even wackier than myself? Is anyone willing to share any LF workshop horror stories?

workshop horror stories

Last year I took a B&W workshop in Yosemite with Ray McSavaney - there was one guy in the workshop that was completely unable to find his own compositions. He would see you set up, and he would come over and jam his tripod right next to yours, and make the 'same' photograph. It was extremely annoying.

I had one shot framed up, and Ray looked through the GG and said that I should probably make 'more than one' image of the photograph. I knew it was something good, and I was happy to hear him concurr. Well, the idiot heard it too, and literally nested his tripod legs inside my tripod, bumping my camera during the process. The guy was *completely* oblivious to how much of an a**hole he was being....

Now, with that said, let me say that I've been on 5 workshops in the last few years, and the above instance is the only 'horror' story I can report. The workshops have all been wonderful experiences..
    Last edited by QT Luong; 19-Oct-2008 at 15:18.

workshop horror stories

I've only attended a few workshops, but they've all been anywhere from excellent to fantastic. It pays to ask about content, etc., in advance. (I can think of some workshops that I would avoid.) Some workshop providers provide harsh criticism, but I've not encountered this. (Again, ask.)

If you have a particular workshop in mind, you might ask about it on this forum. Plus, check the reviews on the LF page at http://www.largeformatphotography.info/workshops.html.