Thread: 4X5 processing

4X5 processing

Recently I saw advertised a gadget (plastic I think) for holding 4 sheets of film in the bottom of an 8x10 tray for processing - especially I think for PMK to keep hands out. I can't remember where I saw the ad. Can someone out there help?

4X5 processing

Why the need for another new gadget?

I am curious why people seem to have abandoned the simple processing technique of film hangers in an open tank. I have been useing this technique for both 4x5 and 8x10 for many years and always perfect negatives.

4X5 processing

Richard

Perhaps this was a similar device: http://www.summitek.com/cradle.html This does 6 sheets in an 11X14 tray. If you're interested, drop me a line off list.

4X5 processing

Also available from Photograpy Formulary. 6-4x5 in 11x14 tray, or 4-5x7 in 16x20.

Kreig: I think that hangers in tanks are good if you have a large volume of developing, but for smaller runs trays are still the best way (or at least the most convenient, especially if you're doing DBI).
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

4X5 processing

film hangers in an open tank would be another new gadget...

4X5 processing

Make your own. http://tinyurl.com/cy45a
    Alec

4X5 processing

I had a thought the other day when I was developing some film in my combo tank. I can develop 6 sheets of film in it but I had 8 pieces to develope. So I mixed up two baches of developer and developed the film. My question is why could't I save the developer from the first 4 pieces and develop the second batch of film. If we can develop several pieces in an open tray then why do we have to use a new batch when we develope more that one tank of film. Thanks James

4X5 processing